arrow

Hold and drag

Loading

arrow

Fundraising

2019

Ellcie Healthy, the Cote d'Azur-based designer of smartglasses

Customers and counterparties

The Côte d’Azur-based designer of smartglasses dedicated to the prevention of falling asleep at the wheel and averting falls receives €2.5 million in its first financing round from ACG Management, Turenne Capital, and several business angels.

Smartglasses are able to prevent drivers from falling asleep and can inhibit the elderly from falling down. The technology of Ellcie Healthy has attracted early investors, who have injected €2.5 million. Supported by Pax Corporate Finance, the start-up was founded three years ago on the Côte d’Azur by Philippe Peyrard, the former Chief Operating Officer of the Atol network of opticians. The company is now opening its capital to ACG Management, Turenne Capital, via the fund Région Sud Investissement, and business angels. “Our solutions rapidly interested various players such as Generali, Optic 2000, and Valeo. This allowed us to wait for the product launch before raising funds”, says Philippe Peyrard, who was highly involved in the launch a few years ago of the Téou eyeglasses by Atol that can be geolocated by phone.

The marketing phase for Ellcie Healthy’s smart frames began in late March throughout the 1,200 Optic 2000 stores. Fifteen sensors measure the blinking and wide opening of the eyes, head movements, brightness and ambient temperature. The data thus collected is then sent by Bluetooth to a mobile phone and processed by an artificial intelligence algorithm. Even before the commercial launch, the company of 20 employees in Villeneuve-Loubet had achieved revenue of just under €1 million for service contracts in 2018.

The next application to be launched in the coming months will focus on detecting falls in the elderly. A version capable of anticipating falls will be ready by 2020, as well as new features such as activity tracking, for example. International development is part of the company’s on-going projects, especially in North America.

Associate members

arrow

Cliquez et glissez

Chargement

arrow

Levée de fonds

2019

Ellcie Healthy, le concepteur azuréen de lunettes connectées

Clients & Contrepartie

Utiliser des lunettes connectées pour prévenir l’endormissement de conducteurs ou les chutes de personnes âgées. L’idée d’Ellcie Healthy a séduit de premiers investisseurs qui injectent 2,5 M€. Accompagnée par Pax Corporate Finance, la jeune pousse fondée il y a trois ans sur la Côte d’Azur par Philippe Peyrard, ancien directeur général délégué du réseau d’opticiens Atol, ouvre son capital à ACG Management, Turenne Capital, via le fonds Région Sud Investissement, et des business angels. « Nos solutions ont intéressé très vite des acteurs divers comme Generali, Optic 2000 et Valeo, ce qui nous a permis d’attendre le lancement du produit pour lever des fonds », assure Philippe Peyrard, très impliqué dans le lancement il y a quelques années des paires de lunettes Téou d’Atol, localisables par téléphone.

La phase de commercialisation des montures connectées d’Ellcie Healthy a débuté fin mars dans les 1 200 boutiques Optic 2000. Quinze capteurs mesurent par exemple le clignement et l’écarquillement des yeux, le mouvement de la tête, la luminosité et la température ambiante, et les données récoltées sont envoyées par bluetooth au téléphone et traitées par un algorithme d’intelligence artificielle. Avant même le lancement commercial, l’entreprise de 20 salariés à Villeneuve-Loubet avait réalisé un peu moins d’1 M€ de chiffre d’affaires en 2018 en prestation de services.

La prochaine application lancée dans les mois qui viennent portera sur la détection de la chute des personnes âgées, en attendant dès 2020 une version capable de l’anticiper, puis de nouvelles fonctionnalités de suivi d’activité par exemple. Le développement international fait partie des chantiers en cours, en particulier en Amérique du Nord.

Membres associés